## Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20510

October 1, 2024

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack:

We write in support of the State of Florida's request for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to issue a Disaster Declaration for Florida's counties that were impacted by Hurricane Helene, and urge you to make assistance available immediately in the form of state block grants to expedite support for Florida's farmers and agricultural producers as they recover from the destructive impacts of the storm.

Florida's growers play a critical role in the American food economy. As one of the few states where major agricultural production can occur in the winter and spring months, Florida's farms provide fresh, domestically grown food to over 100 million Americans along the eastern seaboard when it's needed most. To support the growers and producers who were affected by Hurricane Helene, and to ensure that they can recover from losses and continue their important service of feeding America, the expeditious approval of a Disaster Declaration is necessary to have a successful winter and spring harvest season.

Your support for the State of Florida's request would make a difference for our growers and will assist in their recovery to ensure they can continue to contribute to our food security and national security.

Thank you for your prompt consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

Rick Scott United States Senator

M. M

Marco Rubio United States Senator

The Honorable Tom Vilsack October 1, 2024 Page Two

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Meal 1

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Mario Díaz-Balart Member\_of Congress

W. Greg Steube Member of Congress

Manuel Alejandro Frost-

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Howand

John Rutherford Member of Congress

The Honorable Tom Vilsack October 1, 2024 Page Three

g Alillo

Cory Mills Member of Congress